Paul Hirschman and Charlie Fournier won first place in the Mousetrap Car Competition at the Iowa State Physics Competition held at UNI’s McLeod Center/UNI-Dome. Contributed photo

Pictured are Roland-Story students who participated in the Regional Physics Competition held at the Des Moines Science Center. The R-S physics students and their teacher, Jeff Boman, organized and ran the Regional competition. Eight schools participated. Roland-Story students pictured are: (left to right) Eli Ruben, Jade Elliott, Caleb Schlatter, Jake Sterle, Aaron Craig, Conner Spainhower, Brayden Lester, Matthew Weaver, Nick Wakefield, Logan Strom, Jake Cook, Nic Bell, Davey Jo Shank, Nick Thiel, Leila Seaton, Ethan Sleeth, Kat Hawley, Tessa Johnson, Trinity Haas, Spencer Dodgen, Brock Tresemer, Jake Ford, Theresa Haskin, Cayden Swett, Teagan Johnson, Jon Sobotka, Wim Luyendijk, Charles Fournier, Bev Hawley, Paul Hirschman, Alyssa Lebeck, Sam Sirna and Victoria Sites. Not pictured is Noah Krull. Contributed photo

Matthew Weaver and Teagan Johnson work at the State Physics Competition. They placed second in the state in the Challenge Problem. Contributed photo

Jeff Boman, R-S physics teacher, is pictured with Paul Hirschman and Charlie Fournier (State Champions in the Mousetrap Car Competition) and with Matthew Weaver and Teagan Johnson (second place in the Challenge Problem at State). Contributed photo

This is the winning Mouse Trap Car at the 2017 Iowa State Physics Olympics, made by Paul Hirschman and Charlie Fournier. Contributed photo