The Roland-Story Jazz Band performed at the SCIBA Jazz Festival held at Winterset High School on Saturday, December 14, and finished in first place for the eighth straight year. Roland-Story has now also qualified for the Iowa Jazz Championships, which will be held on Tuesday, April 8, 2014.

Members of the band include the following: saxophone - Erin Nuetzman, Brooke Ehrenberg, Elli Jennings, Tess Urbanek, Hope Sievers, and Brooke Huffaker; trumpet - Erin Power, Jacob Rodilosso, Thomas Wilgenbusch, Megan Sansgaard, and Jade Elliott; trombone - Zach Tryon, Ross Barclay, Michael Friest, Spencer Dodgen, and Reid Selby; rhythm - Matt Valen, Riley Wilgenbusch, Paul Moats, Alex Retallick, and Joseph Danielson. Three members of the band, Jacob Rodilosso - trumpet, Erin Power - flugelhorn, and Riley Wilgenbusch - vibes, also received outstanding solo awards as well.

—photo submitted by Kim Tryon