In its monthly meeting, Wednesday, January 22, the Board of Control acted on football recommendations coming from the Iowa Football Coaches Association and the IHSAA Football Playoff Committee. The recommendations had been tabled by the Board of Control from their December meeting.

At the center of discussions and action was a proposed 8-game regular season which would allow the playoffs to fold into a weekly format. Since December, Board members had contacted constituent groups and in a unanimous vote agreed to stay with the 9-game regular season format.

Other football items that were approved included: (1) discontinuing "sister districts" for the regular season and post season classes in 8-player through 3A and to have a 125-mile limitation for first round games; and (2) no preset pairings will be made for the playoffs and pairings will be determined after each round of the playoffs. Reasonable attempts will be made to find non-district playoff opponents for the first and second round games, but district match-ups could reoccur if an opponent cannot be found within a reasonable distance.

The Board of Control also approved allowing one practice session of no more than four hours during the heat acclimatization period with nor more than three hours of physical activity allowed. The Board also granted an allowance of up to four teams to be at a scrimmage site, with each team only being allowed to scrimmage one other team. All current scrimmage rules would remain in effect.

A change in the forfeiture of season policy was also approved to read "The continuation of the season for a team forfeiting a regular season game shall be determined by the IHSASA administrative staff and the school administration."

Roland-Story will remain in Class 2A, while long-time rival Gilbert moves up to Class 3A this fall. South Hamilton, another rival of R-S, remains in Class 1A. The Norsemen’s new district will be District 6 and will include Aplington-Parkersburg, East Marshall, Iowa Falls-Alden, South Hardin, South Tama and Union (LaPorte City). Gilbert will participate in Class 3A’s District 6, which includes Ballard, Bondurant-Farrar, Benton Community (Van Horne), Grinnell, Nevada and Newton. South Hamilton will be a part of Class 1A’s District 7 and includes Madrid, Manson-Northwest Webster, Ogden, South Central Calhoun, St. Edmond (Fort Dodge) and Woodward Academy. The three likely non-district games on the Roland-Story schedule could include South Hamilton, Gilbert and perhaps Nevada or any of the other central Iowa teams such as West Marshall, North Polk, Bondurant-Farrar or CMB. Fall schedules will be announced at a later date.