—by Todd Thorson

The Roland-Story boys’ basketball team finished their 2013-14 season with an overall mark of 14-9 and 12-6 in the Heart of Iowa Conference. The Norsemen finished third in the 10-team conference behind champion South Hamilton (16-2) and PCM (15-3). Following the conclusion of the season the all-conference selections were announced. Senior Zach Hovick was named to the first team all-Heart of Iowa Conference squad, selected by the coaches.

Zach averaged 18.3 points/game and shot 44 percent from the filed, making 143 of 322 attempts. He also hit 67 percent of his free throws, going 105 for 156 at the charity stripe. Zach also had 47 assists and 21 steals.

R-S senior Ben Clark was named to the second team all-conference. Ben led the HOIAC in both assists (134) and steals (58), finishing four assists ahead of South Hamilton’s Matt Hislop and 11 steals ahead of Trey Tucker of Greene County. Ben also averaged 14.3 points/game.

Senior Nick Ahrens and junior Adam Shorkey received honorable mention.

Receiving academic all-conference honors for the Norsemen were Nick Ahrens, Alex Urbanek, Ross Barclay, Ben Clark, Kane Hassebrock, Zach Hovick and Tom Wilgenbusch.

At the recent season-end basketball banquet team awards were also handed out. The Team MVP was Zach Hovick. The Defensive MVP award went to Ben Clark. The Hardest Worker was Adam Shorkey. Jerald Fritz was the Most Improved. And Ross Barclay received the Coaches’ Award.

Rounding out the conference race behind Roland-Story were CMB (11-7), Gilbert (10-8), North Polk (9-9), Saydel (7-11), Greene County (6-12), Nevada (5-13) and Colfax-Mingo (0-18). South Hamilton went on to represent the HOIAC in the 2A State Tournament held last week, losing in the first round and finishing the season with an overall mark of 21-4.

PCM senior Logan Gilman was the lone player named unanimously to the first team all-conference. Joining Gilman as well as Zach Hovick on the first team were Trey Tucker, Greene County; Russell Greene, North Polk; Dillon Bruxvoordt, PCM; Bryce Kemp, CMB; and Matt Hislop and Colin Hill, South Hamilton.

Named to the second team all-HOIAC along with the Norsemen’s Ben Clark were Trevor Ullestad, South Hamilton; Jared Geschiedler and Wes Greder, Gilbert; Alex Gustafson, Saydel; Austin Moorman, CMB; Cole Gidel, Nevada; and Blake Brauer, North Polk.

Joining Nick Ahrens and Adam Shorkey on the honorable mention list were Landon Braun and Riah Nelsen, Greene County; Colin Lourens, Colfax-Mingo; Seth Balke and Zach Samson, CMB; Ryan Blum and Dax Hatfield, Gilbert; Alex Merfield and Patrick Stephenson, Nevada; Brett Haun and Ryley Sandberg, North Polk; Ryan Jennings and Zach Uhlenhopp, PCM; Kyle Walter, Saydel; and Zach Puls and Andrew Wintermote, South Hamilton.