HUXLEY — The Roland-Story girls produced a top-five individual performance and the Norsemen boys took seventh as a team in Class B competition at the Mike Carr Invitational cross country meet Sept. 16 at the Ballard Golf and Country Club.

Kylie Tjernagel continued the strong start to her senior season by placing fourth in the Class B girls’ race. Tjernagel overcame the hot and humid conditions to run a strong 5-kilometer time of 21 minutes, 8.4 seconds.

“Surprisingly my breathing actually felt really good,” Tjernagel said. “I was kind of surprised. My time showed it too. I’m really happy with how I ran.”

Tjernagel only trailed Iowa Falls-Alden/AGWSR’s Ellie Meyer (20:06.1), Humboldt’s Bryce Gidel (20:11.4) and North Polk’s Sophie Schaffer (20:43.3). Meyer is ranked 12th and Gidel 14th in Class 3A.

“Kylie Tjernagel continues to improve and ran very well against a strong field this evening,” Roland-Story head coach Brad Dedic said. “She was only five seconds off of her personal record in this heat, humidity and with the hills. I’m sure she will be posting new school records as the season progresses.”

The Roland-Story girls took eighth as a team in Class B with 150 points. North Polk, the No. 8 team in 3A, won the Class B team title with 77 points and No. 7 Atlantic was second with a score of 81.

Kaitlyn Kilstofte ran a strong race as Roland-Story’s No. 2 runner. Kilstofte crossed the finish line in 22:58.5 to place 16th.

Baylie Janssen just missed her personal record time and gave Roland-Story a third runner to place in the top 25. Janssen placed right at 25th with a 24:12.1 showing.

Caden Thoreson took 45th in 26:10.8 and Natalie Omundson 63rd in 28:45.9 to complete the scoring for the Roland-Story girls. Jordyn Ramus also ran varsity, placing 65th in 28:55.0.

The Roland-Story boys scored 198 points to come in behind Nodaway Valley (64 points), North Polk (71), Madrid (73), Humboldt (86), Atlantic (92) and South Hardin (108) in the 12-team Class B boys’ field. Nodaway Valley is ranked fourth in 1A, North Polk eighth in 3A, Madrid second in 1A, Humboldt 13th in 3A, Atlantic 11th in 3A and South Hardin second in 2A.

Dylan Ihle was the first runner to cross the finish line for the Roland-Story boys. Ihle placed 28th with a 5-kilometer time of 19:18.9.

“I did alright,” Ihle said. “Not my best time. But with these conditions, no one is going to PR here, so I just use it as good conditioning. Conditions like this don’t happen much, so get that extra work in (during) the hot conditions and it really benefits you when it’s cooler out in the later part of the season.”

Seth Halleland stepped up to finish right behind Ihle with a 30th-place time of 19:20.6.

“Seth Halleland ran an exceptional race,” Dedic said. “He has been improving very well this season. He had one of his best races tonight!”

Nathan Limas came in 40th at 20:00.5, Jay Sanderson 45th in 20:13.1 and Zane Haglund 55th in 20:42.2 as the other runners to score points for the Norsemen boys. Levi Webb took 62nd in 20:53.8 and Jarod Hart 75th in 22:10.1 as the team’s other varsity participants.

Humboldt’s Quinton Orr was the Class B boys’ individual champion with a time of 16:47.3 and Nodaway Valley’s Joshua Baudler took second in 17:03.9. Orr is ranked first individually in 3A and Baudler is the top-rated runner in 1A.

Final Class B team scores

Girls: 1. North Polk 77, 2. Atlantic 81, 3. Humboldt 119, 4. Iowa Falls-Alden/AGWSR 120, 5. Nodaway Valley 127, 6. Creston 127, 7. Nevada 141, 8. Roland-Story 150, 9. Madrid 172, 10. Woodward-Granger 313, 11. South Hardin 324.

Boys: 1. Nodaway Valley 64, 2. North Polk 71, 3. Madrid 73, 4. Humboldt 86, 5. Atlantic 92, 6. South Hardin 108, 7. Roland-Story 198, 8. Eagle Grove 236, 9. Iowa Falls-Alden/AGWSR 246, 10. Woodward-Granger 269, 11. Nevada 271, 12. Creston 281.

Individual results (5-kilometer) - Roland-Story

Girls: 4. Kylie Tjernagel, 21:08.4; 16. Kaitlyn Kilstofte, 22:58.5; 25. Baylie Janssen, 24:12.1; 45. Caden Thoreson (RS), 26:10.8; 63. Natalie Omundson (RS), 28:45.9; 65. Jordyn Ramus (RS), 28:55.0.

Boys: 28. Dylan Ihle, 19:18.9; 30. Seth Halleland, 19:20.6; 40. Nathan Limas, 20:00.5; 45. Jay Sanderson, 20:13.1; 55. Zane Haglund, 20:42.2; 62. Levi Webb, 20:53.8; 75. Jarod, Hart, 22:10.1.