JEWELL — Roland-Story’s Joe Hovick added another first in his senior season at the Heart of Iowa Conference wrestling meet Friday.

Hovick won a conference championship for the first time after defeating Greene County’s Brenner Gallagher in the finals at 113 pounds by major decision, 15-5. Hovick, who won a championship at the Norsemen Invitational for the first time in December, improved his record to an impressive 33-3 mark on the season with the victory.

“I’m just proud of myself and (thankful) for what my teammates are doing for me,” Hovick said.

The championship match was Hovick’s only match of the day in a depleted field at 113.

“It was kind of weird being my first match was the finals,” Hovick said. “Some kids couldn’t make it today.”

Hovick raced out to a 4-0 lead against Gallagher with two early takedowns. By the end of the first period he was up 8-1.

“It being my only match I had a ton of energy,” Hovick said. “My style of wrestling is always going forward.”

Hovick led 10-3 after two periods. He added another takedown in the third and after giving up two points he scored three more of his own to end the match.

“It feels good,” Hovick said. “I’m looking forward to sectionals, districts and state.”

As a team Roland-Story placed seventh out of eight schools with 85 points. The Norsemen had one wrestler place third, three fourth, one fifth and one sixth.

“We would have liked to have finished higher as a team and individually at a couple weights,” Roland-Story head coach Leland Schwartz said. “But we know we have a lot of inexperienced guys and we were missing two of our key wrestlers from our lineup.”

Christian Eslick (126) and Eli Thorson (170) were unable to compete for Roland-Story.

Jimmy Philipsen took third for the Norse at 195 pounds.

Philipsen pinned Greene County’s Gage Michaelsen in 59 seconds in the quarterfinals. He lost by a 10-0 major decision to South Hamilton’s Trevor Thompson in the semifinals, but came back to stick North Polk’s Jayden Krehbiel in 49 seconds during the consolation semifinals and win the third-place match by fall in a rematch with Michaelsen in 1:16.

Ben Sarver (106), Colin Streit (120) and Jay Sanderson (132) each took fourth with a 1-2 record.

Sarver’s victory was a forfeit win over Prairie City-Monroe’s Alex Courtney in the consolation semifinals. Streit defeated Nevada’s Luis Lopez by an 11-4 decision in the consolation semifinals and Sanderson pinned South Hamilton’s Jose Galdeano in 4:34 during the quarterfinals.

Jackson Sterle went 1-2 in coming in fifth at 160. His win was a pin over PCM’s William Vanderpool in 3:22 during the fifth-place match.

Sam Charlson came in sixth at 152 for the Norsemen.

Gilbert won the conference team championship with 238 points. North Polk finished second with a score of 209.

Final team scores: 1. Gilbert 238, 2. North Polk 209, 3. PCM 150, 4. Greene County 148.5, 5. Nevada 113, 6. South Hamilton 99, 7. Roland-Story 85, 8. Saydel 67.5.

Individual results - Roland-Story

106 pounds - 4. Ben Sarver, 1-2. 113 - 1. Joe Hovick, 1-0. 126 - 4. Colin Streit, 1-2. 132 - 4. Jay Sanderson, 1-2. 145 - Caden Sporleder, 0-2. 152 - 6. Sam Charlson, 0-3. 160 - 5. Jackson Sterle, 1-2. 195 - 3. Jimmy Philipsen, 3-1. 220 - Max Petzenhauser, 0-2. 285 - Colin Hansen, 0-2.

STORY CITY — Roland-Story went 1-2 with a victory over West Central Valley and losses to Greene County and North Polk at home quadrangular dual Jan. 21.

The Norsemen defeated West Central Valley by a 48-36 score. They suffered a 52-28 loss to Greene County and 59-27 setback against North Polk in going to 6-18 in duals on the season.

Max Petzenhauser, Ben Sarver, Joe Hovick and Jackson Sterle all won by fall for Roland-Story in the victory over West Central Valley. Petzenhauser downed West Central Valley’s Camden Steele in three minutes, two seconds at 285 pounds, Sarver defeated West Sackett in 19 seconds at 106, Hovick stuck Domanic Mullins in 1:26 at 120 and Sterle pinned Brayden Miller in 2:42 at 160.

Eli Thorson (170), Jesse Rechkemmer (182), Jimmy Philipsen (195) and Joe Jarvis (220) each received a forfeit for the Norse against West Central Valley.

Roland-Story came up with one win by fall and one by major decision against Greene County. The Norse also received two forfeits.

Philipsen pinned Greene County’s Gage Michaelsen in 1:56 and Hovick scored an 18-5 major decision over Braden Gallagher. Sterle and Thorson received the forfeits.

Roland-Story received pins from Hovick and Thorson and a win by decision from Christian Eslick in the loss to North Polk.

Hovick stuck North Polk’s Isaac Larsen in 3:24 and Thorson whipped Cale Engebretson in 2:58. Eslick edged the Comets’ Ryan Davidson in a 6-5 battle at 126.

Sarver and Levi Webb (113) received forfeits against North Polk.

Roland-Story 48, West Central Valley 36

285 pounds - Max Petzenhauser (RS) won by fall over Camden Steele (WCV), 3:02. 106 - Ben Sarver (RS) won by fall over West Sackett (WCV), 0:19. 113 - Wesley Ganoe (WCV) won by forfeit. 120 - Joe Hovick (RS) won by fall over Domanic Mullins (WCV), 1:26. 126 - Justin Garcia (WCV) won by fall over Colin Streit (RS), 0:35. 132 - Wyatt Clemetson (WCV) won by fall over Jay Sanderson (RS), 5:21. 138 - Weston Pote (WCV) won by forfeit. 145 - Braiden Beane (WCV) won by fall over Caden Sporleder (RS), 2:28. 152 - Blaise Beane (WCV) won by disqualification over Sam Charlson (RS). 160 - Jackson Sterle (RS) won by fall over Brayden Miller (WCV), 2:42. 170 - Eli Thorson (RS) won by forfeit. 182 - Jesse Rechkemmer (RS) won by forfeit. 195 - Jimmy Philipsen (RS) won by forfeit. 220 - Joe Jarvis (RS) won by forfeit.

Greene County 52, Roland-Story 28

220 - Sawyer Schiltz (GC) won by fall over Petzenhauser (RS), 1:23. 285 - Matthew Naberhaus (GC) won by forfeit. 106 - McKinley Robbins (GC) won by forfeit. 113 - Brenner Gallagher (GC) won by fall over Sarver (RS), 5:04. 120 - Hovick (RS) won by major decision over Braden Gallagher (GC), 18-5. 126 - Chance McCollom (GC) won by fall over Streit (RS), 1:19. 132 - Garrett Tasler (GC) won by fall over Sanderson (RS), 5:00. 138 - Brady Stauffer (GC) won by forfeit. 145 - Joe Davis (GC) won by major decision over Sporleder (RS), 13-5. 152 - Will Hansen (GC) won by fall over Charlson (RS), 0:36. 160 - Jackson Sterle (RS) won by forfeit. 170 - Thorson (RS) won by forfeit. 182 - Jesse Rechkemmer (RS) won by forfeit. 195 - Jimmy Philipsen (RS) won by fall over Gage Michaelsen (GC), 1:56.

North Polk 59, Roland-Story 27

195 - Dylan Meiners (NP) won by fall over Philipsen (RS), 5:28. 220 - Benjamin Ewing (NP) won by fall over Max Petzenhauser (RS), 0:16. 285 - Cole Sanger (NP) won by forfeit. 106 - Sarver (RS) won by forfeit. 113 - Levi Webb (RS) won by forfeit. 120 - Hovick (RS) won by fall over Isaac Larson (NP), 3:24. 126 - Christian Eslick (RS) won by decision over Ryan Davidson (NP), 6-5. 132 - Easton White (NP) won by technical fall over Sanderson (RS), 15-0. 138 - Andrew Haney (NP) won by forfeit. 145 - Nicholas Bockenstedt (NP) won by fall over Caden Sporleder (RS), 1:18. 152 - Logan Engebretson (NP) won by fall over Charlson (RS), 1:13. 160 - Parker Frey (NP) won by fall over Sterle (RS), 0:52. 170 - Thorson (RS) won by fall over Cale Engebretson (NP), 2:58. 182 - Jayden Krehbiel (NP) won by forfeit.