Historic barn lives on at Story City Historical Society
—by Kate Feil, Story City Historical Society Director
Many of you will remember the historic barn that stood on David and Rosemary Osheim’s farm south of Story City and overlooked the Skunk River valley. The barn was constructed in 1870 by David’s great-great-grandfather Thor Ericson, and this farm has been in the family since 1865. In 2013 the barn was sold to a gentleman from Texas who came to Story City and dismantled it. The lumber was taken to Texas and will be used to build a home there.
Extra pieces of wood and items from the barn were donated to the historical society by the Osheims. With these items we were able to create a unique exhibit about the barn and preserve its history. Since several of the donated barn wood pieces were doors, the exhibit was built on a 2x6” frame and the doors were attached so they are functional. This design allowed us to have exhibit space behind the doors. Several old tools, cow bells, and horse shoes are on display. The exhibit is located in the Carriage House Museum.
The Osheims have also loaned a model barn that was built by Theroy Wierson, David’s great uncle. It is modeled after the design of the original barn built by Thor Ericson who was Theroy’s grandfather.
This exhibit was made possible by the handiwork of some wonderful volunteers. We would like to thank Mike Jensen, Al Holm, Dwayne Fiihr, Dan Webster, and Chris Feil for their hard work on this project.