Five candidates to be elected to County Extension Council

Staff Writer
Story City Herald

Voters will have the opportunity to elect five members of the Story County Extension Council from a slate with four candidates at the Nov. 4 general election. One of the positions will be elected by write-in.

“The council members elected this year will be involved in bringing educational opportunities to Story County for the next four years,” Alison Boelman, County Extension Administrator said. Iowa State University Extension and Outreach – Story County educational programming is a cooperative effort involving local citizens, Iowa State University and the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Extension council members are elected at large and all voters in the county are eligible to vote for five candidates.

Candidates on this year’s ballot include: Chelsi Birchmier - Nevada, Rhett Faaborg – Nevada, Alice Moody – Nevada, and Doug Sampson – Nevada

Council members whose terms expire this year are: MaryAnn Gardner – Nevada, Stacie Link – Cambridge, Ryan McKinney – Colo, Alice Moody – Nevada, and Doug Sampson – Nevada. Carryover council members whose terms continue through the end of 2016 are: Leonard Foley – Huxley, Bob Krause – Slater, Cathy Miller – Ames, and Jean Saveraid – Huxley.

Successful candidates will take office in January 2015. Extension council members make policy, programming and budget decisions for Story County Extension and Outreach.

County councils contribute to a unique attribute of ISU Extension and Outreach – being present when needs arise and staying for the long haul. Council members and some 17,000 Iowa volunteers work with Extension and Outreach to increase the staying power. Through partnerships, they provide resources, research and education to assist Iowans.

ISU Extension and Outreach has 100 field offices, providing local access to extension programs in all 99 counties. For more information, visit or contact 515-382-6551 or