Roland-Story honors retirees, long-time staff

Ronna Lawless Staff Writer
Roland-Story staff members recognized at the annual banquet are (front row, left to right) Paula Sampson, Deb Olson, Matt Weiss, Kathy Gabrielson, (second row) Brad Taylor, Lisa Web, Candi Holm, Jil Hogan, Tracy Rule, Jodi Friest, (back row) Darrel Hubby, Brice Haskin, Jeff Wellik, Michelle McElwee, Steve DeGroote and Michelle Carpenter. Contributed photo

Roland-Story held its annual Staff Recognition Banquet at Prairie Moon Winery on April 21. The event honored retirees and staff who have 10, 20, 30 or 40 years of service.

“This weekend the Roland-Story school board held their annual Staff Recognition Banquet and honored some special educators for many years of dedication and devotion to the service of others,” said Superintendent Matt Patton.

School board president Marc Soderstrum gave the welcome and invocation. Diane Braun announced the dinner.

School board member Michaela Carlson recognized the following staff members for 10 years of service: Jodi Friest, Brice Haskin, Michelle McElwee, Lisa Webb and Jeff Wellik.

Honord for 20 years of service were Michelle Carpenter, Jil Hogan, Candi Holm and Darrel Hubby. They were recognized by school board member Tammy Hansen.

Soderstrum gave the awards for 30 years of service to Laurie Arnold, Steve DeGroote and Tracy Rule.

Mike Retallick and Soderstrum gave the Retirees Service Awards to Paula Sampson, Deb Olson, Matt Weiss and Kathy Gabrielson.

“We are so proud to celebrate these members of the Norsemen family. There is more than 390 years of education experience represented in this picture,” Patton said.