R-S runners compete in less than ideal conditions at HOIAC meet

Staff Writer
Story City Herald
R-S runners compete in less than ideal conditions at HOIAC meet

—by Todd Thorson

The Heart of Iowa Conference cross country meet was held in rather miserable conditions last Monday (Oct. 13) on the ISU course in Ames. The Gilbert boys and girls dominated the competition, running away with both titles in impressive fashion. The Norse boys finished sixth in the 10 team race, while the girls came in ninth out of 10 schools.

Spencer Dedic led the R-S boys with a 14th place finish, crossing the finish line in 19:22.44. He did so wearing only shoe, having lost one in the mud and muck on the wet course. Parker Witthuhn and Dakota Rusher came in 19th and 20th, with times of 19:48.92 and 19:50.34, respectively. Rounding out the boys’ varsity lineup were: Jacob Morgan (33rd, 20:30.65), Blake Sievers (43rd, 20:57.86), Marcus Thomas (49th, 21:48.97) and Nate Lasley (53rd, 22:45.69).

Gilbert won the boy’s title with 27 points, as three of the Tiger runners finished 1-2-3. Their other four varsity participants took up the 10th thru 13th spots. CMB was a distant runner up with 94 points, with Saydel one point back in third with 95 points. The Norsemen totaled 129 points.

Cathy Narigon led the Norsemen girls with a 16th place finish, clocking in with a 4K time of 17:47.45. Taylor Smith turned in a time of 18:37.20; good for 26th place. Taryn Perry finished 43rd with a time of 19:46.28. Rounding out the R-S girls’ roster were: Kim Hendrian (46th, 20:12.57) and Ashley Webb (53rd, 20:53.50).

The Gilbert girls took the title as well in impressive fashion, posting just 17 points, claiming the four top spots in the process. Their entire seven member Tiger varsity squad finished in the top 10. North Polk was a distant second with 92 points. Greene County was third at 108. The Norsemen finished with 184 points; just four back of Nevada (180).

“I thought we had a great meet,” said Coach Chad Gilroy, “especially taking into consideration the condtions. It was a good test coming into the state qualifying meet this Thursday (Oct. 23). The competition at the conference meet is always tough and it lets you know where you stand starting the championship part of the season. I was very pleased with how both teams came into the meet with focus and did not let the conditions affect how they were preparing to race. With such young teams on both sides, I was kind of nervous how they would handle such a big meet under the circumstances we were given. But as I said before, their focus was terrific! I think that has a lot to do with the senior leadership that we have this year.”

Also competing in the boys’ J.V. competition were: Reid Selby (23:01.83), Saber Cory (23:03.52), Tyler Greenhaw (25:47.95), Carsen Ehrenberg (25:48.24), Zach Taylor (25:57.03), William Larson (25:59.39), Ramon Mendoza (28:32.18), Brandon Greenhaw (28:42.54) and Garret Twedt (31:30.98).

—Varsity track photos by Peg Patterson

Middle School

The Roland-Story 7th/8th grade runners also took part in the HOIAC meet and Gradyn Dowling led the boys’ race with a two mile time of 12:30.34. That was good enough to win the overall title, as he edged out Gilbert’s Tyler Rees by less than a second (12:31.30).

The R-S middle school boys finished fifth in the nine-team race with 120 points. Gilbert took the crown with 31 points. Nevada was second at 91.

Kaitlyn Kilstofte led the Norse 7th/8th grade girls with a 13th place finish, turning in a two mile time of 14:58.35. The R-S girls finished eighth out of nine teams with 184 points. CMB won the girls’ crown with 45 points, followed by North Polk in the number two spot.

Other R-S boys competing in the middle school race were: Matt Mehrtens (26th, 13:53.12), Nick Thiel (27th, 13:55.94), Noah Krull (46th, 14:43.31), Seth Moore (48th, 14:48.50), Eli Ruben (55th, 14:58.10), Gabe Reitano (72nd, 16:17.90), Nolan Jackson (88th, 17:43.99), Colby Martin (93rd, 18:21.35) and Jakob Lester (104th, 21:39.03).

Rounding out the Norsemen 7th/8th girls’ lineup were: Theresa Haskin (23rd, 15:46.46), Emma Auld (30th, 15:56.75), Kaitlyn Strobl (85th, 19:18.77), Josie Thomas (90th, 20:09.11), Angela Harstead (92nd, 20:28.80), Madison Heim (97th, 21:40.47) and Anissa Alitz (99th, 22:03.87).