Norse wrestling team earns first dual victories: R-S gets three wins in two trips to Fort Dodge

Joe Randleman
Story City Herald
Roland-Story's Ben Sarver controls Iowa Falls-Alden's Kaden Meyer at 113 pounds during a quadrangular dual meet in Fort Dodge Jan. 7. Sarver pinned Meyer in 5:56.

FORT DODGE – The Roland-Story wrestling team went 1-3 at the Fort Dodge St. Edmond Dual Tournament Saturday. 

The Norsemen defeated the Fort Dodge JV team by a 39-30 score and suffered losses to AGWSR (36-35), Southeast Valley (54-24) and West Hancock (58-15). Roland-Story's overall dual record moved to 3-10 at the end of the tournament. 

Roland-Story earned five falls and one victory by decision against the Fort Dodge JV team. Christian Eslick (145), Hesston Johnson (152), Thomas Tjaden (182), Kade Blume (106) and Ben Sarver (113) each picked up a pin and Logan Powers scored a 7-2 victory over Fort Dodge’s Carter Forbes at 120. 

Jaxson Kadolph received a forfeit against the Dodgers at 195. 

The Norsemen scored four falls and one technical fall against AGWSR. Johnson, Blume, Aaron Peyton (220) and Colin Hanson (285) earned the pins and Powers delivered the tech fall by a 24-7 score over Kaden Abbas. 

Eslick picked up a forfeit win against AGWSR. 

Blume, Powers, Eslick and Johnson all scored a fall in the loss to Southeast Valley.  

Blume and Eslick each won by fall in the loss to West Hancock. Saver earned a 3-1 victory over West Hancock’s Luis Sandoval. 

FORT DODGE – Roland-Story earned its first two dual meet victories of the season at the Fort Dodge St. Edmond quadrangular dual meet Jan. 7. 

The Norsemen whipped Coon-Rapids-Bayard by a 54-12 score and St. Edmond by a 51-12 margin. They suffered a close 42-37 loss at the hands of Iowa Falls-Alden, putting their overall dual record at 2-7 on the season. 

In the victory over CRB the Norsemen had two pins and seven victories by forfeit. 

At 106 pounds Kade Blume pinned CRB’s Toby Benninger in one minute, 10 seconds. Logan Powers earned a fall over Alex Duran in 53 seconds at 126 pounds. 

Roland-Story's Kade Blume pinned Coon Rapids-Bayard's Toby Benninger in 1:10 at 106 pounds during a quadrangular dual meet in Fort Dodge Jan. 7.

Levi Webb (113), Ben Sarver (120), Christian Eslick (145), Hesston Johnson (152), Dylan Kahl (160), Thomas Tjaden (182) and Colin Hansen (285) received the forfeits for Roland-Story. 

The Norsemen recorded one win on the mat against St. Edmond. Sarver edged the Gaels’ Ronnie Orres by a 6-5 decision. 

Blume, Powers, Eslick, Johnson, Kahl, Jaxson Randolph (195), Aaron Peyton (220) and Hansen each received a forfeit against St. Edmond. 

Blume, Sarver, Powers and Johnson all won by fall in the loss to Iowa Falls-Alden. 

Blume pinned the Cadets’ Andon Barrick in 2:26, Saver took down Kaden Meyer in 5:56 and Powers whipped Jacob Michaelson in 41 seconds. Johnson defeated Tucker Hejlik in 1:40. 

Eslick added a victory by major decision over Iowa Falls-Alden's Mason Kent, winning 11-3. Peyton pulled off a 3-1 decision over the Cadets’ Kolbi Tjarks and Tjaden won by forfeit. 

Roland-Story 54, Coon Rapids-Bayard 12 

285 - Colin Hansen (RS) won by forfeit. 106 - Kade Blume (RS) won by fall over Toby Benninger (CRB), 1:10. 113 - Levi Webb (RS) won by forfeit. 120 - Ben Sarver (RS) won by forfeit. 126 - Logan Powers (RS) won by fall over Alex Duran (CRB), 0:53. 132 - Double forfeit. 138 - Double forfeit. 145 - Christian Eslick (RS) won by forfeit. 152 - Hesston Johnson (RS) won by forfeit. 160 - Dylan Kahl (RS) won by forfeit.170 - Double forfeit. 182 - Thomas Tjaden (RS) won by forfeit. 195 - Kale Pevestorf (CRB) over won by fall over Jaxson Kadolph (RS), 2:00. 220 - Aaron McAlister (CRB) won by fall over Aaron Peyton (RS), 2:41. 

Roland-Story 51, Fort Dodge St. Edmond 12 

106 - Blume (RS) won by forfeit. 113 - Sarver (RS) won by decision over Ronnie Orres (FDSE), 6-5. 120 - Powers (RS) won by forfeit. 126 - Double forfeit. 132 - Double forfeit. 138 - Double forfeit. 145 - Eslick (RS) won by forfeit. 152 - Johnson (RS) won by forfeit. 160 - Kahl (RS) won by forfeit. 170 - Grant Webster (FDSE) won by forfeit. 182 - Tyler Rossmanith (FDSE) won by fall over Tjaden (RS), 5:58. 195 - Kadolph (RS) won by forfeit. 220 - Peyton (RS) won by forfeit. 285 - Hansen (RS) won by forfeit. 

Iowa Falls-Alden 42, Roland-Story 37 

220 - Peyton (RS) won by decision over Kolbi Tjarks (IFA), 3-1. 285 - Nic Warrington (IFA) won by fall over Colin Hansen (RS), 1:18. 106 - Blume (RS) won by fall over Andon Barrick (IFA), 2:26. 113 - Sarver (RS) won by fall over Kaden Meyer (IFA), 5:56. 120 - Powers (RS) won by fall over Jacob Michaelson (IFA), 0:41. 126 - Maliq Crosby (IFA) won by forfeit. 132 - Brody Hoversten (IFA) won by forfeit. 138 - Jackson Kobe (IFA) won by forfeit. 145 - Eslick (RS) won by major decision over Mason Kent (IFA), 11-3). 152 - Johnson (RS) won by fall over Tucker Hejlik (IFA), 1:40. 160 - Evan Ackerman (IFA) won by forfeit. 170 - Gage Pohlman (IFA) won by fall over Kahl (RS), 1:34. 182 - Tjaden (RS) won by forfeit. 195 - Gabe Hadwiger (IFA) won by fall over Kadolph (RS), 1:07. 

TRURO – Roland-Story suffered a pair of close losses at the I-35 double-dual meet Jan. 5. 

The Norsemen fell to Clarke-Murray by a 42-36 score and I-35 by a 39-36 margin. The two tight setbacks put them at 0-6 on the season. 

Roland-Story had two pins in its loss to Clarke-Murray. Logan Powers stuck the Indians’ Alexander Shinn in one minute, nine seconds at 126 pounds and Christian Eslick pinned Kacey Boyer in 28 seconds at 145. 

Kade Blume (106), Noah Wakefiled (113), Hesston Johnson (152) and Jackson Sterle (170) each received a forfeit. 

Eslick and Blume each picked up a pin against I-35. Eslick downed Isaiah Smith in 4:23 and Blume whipped the Roadrunners’ Briar Johnston in just 11 seconds. 

Wakefield, Ben Sarver (120), Jaxson Kadolph (195) and Colin Hansen (285) received forfeits against I-35. 

Clarke-Murray 42, Roland-Story 36 

220 pounds - Jake Smith (CM) over Aaron Peyton (RS), 0:21. 285 - Will Smith (CM) won by decision over Colin Hansen (RS), 2-0. 106 - Kade Blume (RS) won by forfeit. 113 - Noah Wakefield (RS) won by forfeit. 120 - Ethan Domina (CM) won by decision over Ben Sarver (RS), 8-6. 126 - Logan Powers (RS) won by fall over Alexander Shinn (CM), 1:09. 132 - Jessica Guerrero (CM) won by forfeit. 138 - Zethann May (CM) won by forfeit. 145 - Christian Eslick (RS) won by fall over Kacey Boyer (CM), 0:28. 152 - Hesston Johnson (RS) won by forfeit. 160 - K.J. Fry (CM) won by fall over Dylan Kahl (RS), 1:48. 170 - Jackson Sterle (RS) won by forfeit. 182 - Cole Binning (CM) over Thomas Tjaden (RS), 1:54. 195 - Tyler Binning (CM) won by fall over Jaxson Kadolph (RS), 1:15.  

I-35 39, Roland-Story 36 

285 - Hansen (RS) won by forfeit. 106 - Kade Blume (RS) won by fall over Briar Johnston (I-35), 0:11. 113 - Wakefield (RS) won by forfeit. 120 - Sarver (RS) won by forfeit. 126 - Ryan Steinlage (I-35) won by decision over Powers (RS), 5-4. 132 - Reuben Smith (I-35) won by forfeit. 138 - Nick Steinlage (I-35) won by forfeit. 145 - Eslick (RS) won by fall over Isaiah Smith (I-35), 4:23. 152 - Eli Green (I-35) won by fall over Johnson (R-S), 1:22. 160 - Aaron Chandler (I-35) won by fall over Kahl (RS), 2:56. 170 - Chase Darst (I-35) won by decision over Sterle (R-S), 6-3. 182 - Curtis Jacobe (I-35) won by decision over Tjaden (RS), 9-8. 195 - Kadolph (RS) won by forfeit. 220 - Sam Vonnahme (I-35) won by fall over Aaron Peyton (RS), 0:34.