Six Norsemen make all-HOIC in boys basketball

Joe Randleman
Story City Herald
Senior Sam Skaar was one of three Roland-Story seniors to make the all-HOIC first team in boys' basketball for the 2020-2021 season.

Roland-Story had six players given all-Heart of Iowa Conference recognition in boys’ basketball for the 2020-21 season. 

Seniors Sam Skaar and Adam McIlrath and freshman Jonovan Wilkinson each made the first team after leading Roland-Story to the conference title with a 10-1 record. They were joined by Nevada’s Colin Memmer and Ty Ditmer, South Hamilton’s Carter Hewitt, Prairie City-Monroe's Andrew Mitchell and Greene County’s Bryce Stalder. 

Skaar averaged 15.1 points, 5.7 rebounds and 3.1 assists in conference play. McIlrath put up 10.0 points and 6.1 rebounds shooting 55 % from the field and Wilkinson tallied averages of 11.3 points and 7.3 rebounds. 

Sophomore Luke Patton landed on the second team. He was joined by Nevada’s James Edwards, Greene County’s Richard Daugherty, PCM’s Carson VandeLune and Durant Van Dyke, West Marshall’s Joey Tollefson, Saydel’s Mason Hicks and South Hamilton’s Kyler Hodnefield. 

Patton averaged 8.3 points and 5.5 rebounds. He shot 56 % from the field. 

Seniors Nolan Faber and Dhruv Patel were named honorable mention.  

Faber averaged 5.7 points and 4.7 assists. Patel put up 3.5 points per game and made 10 3-pointers at an outstanding 53 % clip. 

All-HOIC boys’ basketball teams 

First team: Sam Skaar (Sr.), Roland-Story; Colin Memmer (Jr.), Nevada; Ty Dittmer (Jr.), Nevada; Jonovan Wilkinson (Fr.), Roland-Story; Adam McIlrath (Sr.), Roland-Story; Carter Hewitt (Sr.), South Hamilton; Andrew Mitchell (Sr.), PCM; Bryce Stalder (Jr.), Greene County. 

Second team: Luke Patton (So.), Roland-Story; Richard Daugherty (So.), Greene County; Carson VandeLune (Jr.), PCM; Duran Van Dyke (Jr.), PCM: James Edwards (Jr.), Nevada; Joey Tollefson (Jr.), West Marshall; Mason Hicks (So.), Saydel, Kyler Hodnefield (Sr.), South Hamilton. 

Honorable mention: Max Riley (Jr.), Greene County; Zach Goff (Sr.), Greene County; Ayden Rhodes (Sr.), Nevada; Cooper Bovee (Sr.), Nevada; Gatlin Boell (Sr.), PCM; Grant Landgrebe (Sr.), PCM; Nolan Faber (Sr.), Roland-Story; Dhruv Patel (Sr.), Roland-Story; Chris Malone (Sr.), Saydel; Judd Roberts (Jr.), Saydel; Freddie Lewis (Sr.), South Hamilton; Clayton Ubben (Sr.), South Hamilton; Peyton Hart (So.), West Marshall; Parker Reese (Jr.), West Marshall. 

Final HOIC standings 

Roland-Story 10-1 

Nevada 9-3 

South Hamilton 8-3 

PCM 5-6 

Greene County 3-7 

West Marshall 3-8 

Saydel 0-10