Norsemen grapplers take fourth at Tiger Invite

Joe Randleman Staff Writer
Roland-Story’s Jon Sobotka gets Nevada’s Theo Skelton in a headlock during their match at 160 pounds at the Heart of Iowa Conference dual meet between the Norsemen and Cubs Jan. 10 in Roland. Sobotka pinned Skelton in one minute, 16 seconds. Photo by Joe Randleman

ADEL - The Roland-Story wrestling team turned in a productive day at the Tiger Invitational in Adel Saturday.

The Norsemen crowned two champions and had five other wrestlers place, scoring 108 points to place sixth out of 11 teams, coming in just a half of a point behind Waukee’s fifth-place score.

David Grimes and Jimmy Philipsen were the two Norse wrestlers to win a championship on the day. They both posted a perfect 3-0 record.

Grimes competed at 106 pounds. He pinned Prairie City-Monroe’s Trey Thomas in one minute, 13 seconds and Winterset’s Travis Allen in 1:41 to reach the finals.

In the championship match, Grimes took care of Ames’ Dominick Arce-Matos by a 9-5 decision to improve his season record to 15-7.

Philipsen wrestled at 195. He stuck Dallas Center-Grimes’ Brody Burgher in 48 seconds and won a 5-2 decision over Clarke’s Jake Smith to enter the championship match.

Philipsen faced off against Nevada’s Jacob MacVey in the finals. After defeating MacVey by an 8-3 decision two days earlier at a home dual meet, he pinned him at Adel in 5:54 to earn the title and raise his season record to 18-3.

Koby Hassebrock placed third at 145 for the Norse and reached a big milestone in the process.

Ranked No. 8 at 145 in Class 2A by The Predicament, Hassebrock opened with a fall over West Central Valley’s Drew Belden in 2:47, but then lost by a 5-3 decision to Winterset’s Jake West, who is rated No. 2 at 145. Hassebrock came back in the consolation round to score a pair of 50-second pins over Coon Rapids-Bayard’s Carson Hilgenberg and Waukee’s Andrew Hembry to push his season record to 26-3.

The victory over Hilgenberg was the 100th of Hassebrock’s career.

Joe Hovick (113) and Eli Thorson (152) both placed fourth for Roland-Story.

Hovick went 2-3 with one win by decision and another by injury default. Thorson was 2-2 with both victories coming by fall.

Jay Sanderson (120) and Michael Schiermeister (285) each placed fifth with identical 2-2 records. Sanderson picked up one victory by decision and one by fall and Schiermeister earned one pin and one win by major decision.

Colin Streit also competed for Roland-Story. Streit went 1-2 at 126 with his victory coming by major decision.

PCM — the No. 1 team in 2A — won the team championship with 209 points. ADM placed second with 152 points, DCG took third with 140 and Winterset came in fourth with 134.5.

Final team scores: 1. PCM 209 points, 2. ADM 152, 3. DCG 140, 4. Winterset 134.5, 5. Waukee 108.5, 6. Roland-Story 108, 7. West Central Valley 91, 8. Ames 86, 9. Clarke 73, 10. Nevada 35, 11. Coon Rapids-Bayard 34.

Individual results - Roland-Story

106 pounds - 1. David Grimes, 3-0. 113 - 4. Joe Hovick, 2-3. 120 - 5. Jay Sanderson, 2-2. 126 - Colin Streit, 1-2, 145 - 3. Koby Hassebrock, 3-1. 152 - 4. Eli Thorson, 2-2. 195 - 1. Jimmy Philipsen, 3-0. 285 - 5. Michael Schiermeister, 2-2.

ROLAND - Roland-Story wasn’t able to pull through in enough competitive matches to keep pace with Nevada in a 48-30 dual loss to the Cubs Jan. 10 at Roland.

The Norsemen needed all the breaks to go their way after having to forfeit five weight classes. But they gave up three losses by fall to drop to 5-11 in dual competition on the season.

“We had a couple of matches that we hoped would go the other way and they didn’t,” Roland-Story head wrestling coach Leland Schwartz said. “The guys we had in there — we needed to take care of business with them — and we didn’t get the job done.”

The Norsemen came out firing, winning the first two matches by fall. Eli Thorson downed Nevada’s Carlos Buenrrostro in 2:45 at 152 and Jon Sobotka defeated Theo Skelton in 1:16 at 160.

Nevada took the next two matches, then Jimmy Philipsen won a hard-fought 8-5 decision for the Norsemen over the Cubs’ Jacob MacVey at 195. Nevada picked up a forfeit win at 220 and the Cubs’ Camden Vincent earned a pin over Roland-Story’s Michael Schiermeister in a tough break for the Norsemen after Schiermeister had been in control for nearly two full periods.

Roland-Story’s Nate Johnson lost by fall to Nate Dumbaugh at 106, but Joe Hovick gave the Norsemen a win at 113 by pinning Dominick Garcia in 1:26. Jay Sanderson edged the Cubs’ Luis Lopez by a 6-4 decision at 120, then Roland-Story suffered two losses by forfeits.

Nevada’s Cale Dumbaugh scored a quick pin over Roland-Story’s Caden Sporleder at 138. The meet ended with a victory by Roland-Story’s Koby Hassebrock at 145. Hassebrock, ranked eighth in Class 2A at 145, pinned Nevada’s Noah Nusbaum in 2:51 to end the meet.

Hassebrock’s victory was the 98th of his career.

Nevada 48, Roland-Story 30

152 - Eli Thorson (RS) won by fall over Carlos Buenrrostro (N), 2:45. 160 - Jon Sobotka (RS) won by fall over Theo Skelton (N), 1:16. 170 - Jonan Woods (N) won by forfeit. 182 - Jay Calentine (N) won by forfeit. 195 - Jimmy Philipsen (RS) won by decision over Jacob MacVey (N), 8-5. 220 - Holden Fry (N) won by forfeit. 285 - Camden Vincent (N) won by fall over Michael Schiermeister (RS), 3:44. 106 - Nate Dumbaugh (N) won by fall over Nate Johnson (RS), 3:11. 113 - Joe Hovick (RS) won by fall over Dominick Garcia (N), 1:26. 120 - Jay Sanderson (RS) won by decision over Luis Lopez (N), 6-4. 126 - Benton Shill (N) won by forfeit. 132 - Sam Steele (N) won by forfeit. 138 - Cale Dumbaugh (N) won by fall over Caden Sporleder (RS), 0:18. 145 - Koby Hassebrock (RS) won by fall over Noah Nusbaum (N), 2:51.