Four Norse grapplers headed to districts

Joe Randleman Staff Writer
Roland-Story’s Joe Hovick starts to turn Webster City’s Reece Sadler during the championship round at the Class 2A sectional wrestling meet in Webster City on Saturday. Hovick defeated Sadler by major decision, 16-5, to claim the championship and advance to districts. Roland-Story will be sending a total of four wrestlers to districts in Adel this Saturday. photo by joe randleman/story city herald

WEBSTER CITY — The Roland-Story wrestling team had four wrestlers advance to districts from the Class 2A sectional wrestling meet on Saturday.

Roland-Story had two wrestlers win championships — Joe Hovick (113) and Koby Hassebrock (145). Reynaldo Torres (138) joined Schiermeister in placing second for the Norsemen, who took fourth in the team standings with 131 points.

“I was pretty pleased with that,” Roland-Story head coach Leland Schwartz said. “I knew we had a really good shot with two of them. We had a decent shot with a few others and a couple of them came through.”

Hovick improved to 31-10 after earning a pair of major-decision victories. He recorded a 10-2 win over Perry’s Riece Graham in the semifinals, then knocked off Webster City’s Reece Sadler, 16-5.

“My strategy was just to score some points,” Hovick said. “I was nervous, but I got the job done.”

Hassebrock (36-3) took his first step toward returning to state by pinning both of his opponents at Webster City. Ranked No. 7 in 2A at 145, Hassebrock stuck Perry’s Jeb Stewart in 1:53 and Gilbert’s Kruz Pierce in 4:52.

“Being seeded first and getting first is pretty good,” Hassebrock said. “I wrestled pretty hard. I was kind of sluggish last week, but we really picked up practice this week and that really helped today. It’s pretty easy to get up and take it easy on someone, so I was proud of myself that I kept going the whole time and pinned both my guys.”

Torres (13-6) had to win three matches to advance.

He pinned Gilbert’s Aiden Gibbons, lost by fall to No. 2 Kaleb Olejniczak, of Perry, but came back to edge Webster City’s Nick Gasca by an 8-5 score to earn a wrestleback. In the wrestleback, Torres won a tough 12-10 battle over West Marshall’s Grant Nelson.

Schiermeister pinned Nevada’s Camden Vincent in the semifinals before falling to Gilbert’s Jacob Torresi in the finals. He will take an 8-6 record into districts.

Eli Thorson and Jay Sanderson each earned one victory for Roland-Story.

Thorson placed third at 152, ending the season with a 23-14 record. His victory came by fall over Webster City’s Evan Estlund in 1:38 during the third-place match.

The win over Estlund gave Thorson a wrestleback opportunity, but he lost by fall to Gilbert’s Carson Johnson.

Sanderson finished fourth at 120 to complete the season with 15 wins. He edged Perry’s Tanner Burgin by an 8-5 decision in the quarterfinals, then lost by fall to Webster City’s Drake Doolittle and Gilbert’s Brody Bents.

Gilbert won the sectional team championship with 224 points. Webster City placed second with 208 points and Perry took third with a score of 180.5.

Final team scores

1. Gilbert 224 points, 2. Webster City 208, 3. Perry 180.5, 4. Roland-Story 131, 5. West Marshall 117, 6. Nevada 85.

Individual results

Gilbert, Nevada and Roland-Story

106 pounds - 3. David Grimes, 0-1. 113 - 1. Joe Hovick, 2-0. 120 - 4. Jay Sanderson, 1-2. 126 - 4. Colin Streit, 0-2. 138 - 2. Reynaldo Torres, 3-1. 145 - 1. Koby Hassebrock, 2-0. 152 - 2. 3. Eli Thorson, 1-2. 160 - 5. Jon Sobotka, 0-2. 285 - 2. Michael Schiermeister, 1-1.